Buxy

Buxy - Saccazand house

Location: South of cottages towards Cluny, 20km south of Chalon

Nearby: the "Voie Verte" cycle track, the wine appellation Montagny, Bissy-sur-Fley village, Mont Avril views

Why we recommend this place:

  • The relaxed atmosphere of the town of 2,200 inhabitants and its sloping main street lined with plane trees which give it an almost mediterranean atmosphere.
  • The many old buildings. These include: the Red Tower which is part of the remains of the old fortifications of the twelfth century: the restored homes of the XVth and XVIth centuries: the house of Saccazand , the last public prosecutor for the king in 1792, with its oriel window and the church of St. Germain and its clock tower. One of the three bells in the tower, named 'Germaine', weighs 1.5t and is dated at 1515.
  • The inescapable 'Voie Verte' at the entrance of Buxy and the old station and Tourist Office,
  • In the surrounding area several Romanesque churches have frescoes (Granges, Germagny, Rosey)
  • 10km away from Buxy the village of Bissy-sur-Fley is dominated by the Chateau of the poet Pontus de Tyard, a member of the Pléiade group of poets which also included Ronsard and Du Bellay. It has been restored by the association "Renaissance du château Pontus de Tyard". A conservatory of vines has been established there with more than 50 varieties existing in the time of Pontus.
    Nearby the charming village of Culles-les-Roches worths a stroll.
  • Montagny village and appellation and its interpretive trail (4.5km) about local vineyards.
  • Mount Avril (421m) at 7km from Buxy, offers a panoramic view of the Côte Chalonnaise. Two climbs are possible from Jambles and Cercot (Moroges). The limestone hills overlooking Buxy, some of which are classified as Natura 2000 sites, are dotted with boxwood, "buxus" in Latin, which probably gave the name in the Xth century to the town of Buxy (source Wikipedia-page Buxy).X. Maglott

Saint-Germain church and clock towerBuxy - XVth century restaured houseVoie Verte cycle trackRed tower Buxy center

Buxy

gites Buxy - la maison Saccazand et son oriel

Localisation: à 20km au Sud des gites vers Cluny, à 20km au Sud de Chalon.

A proximité: la Voie Verte, l'appellation Montagny, Bissy-sur-Fley, Mont Avril

Pourquoi nous aimons ce lieu:

  • l'ambiance détendue du village (2200 hab.) avec son artère montante bordée de platanes qui rend l'atmosphère presque méridionale,
  • les nombreux batiments anciens : la Tour Rouge (vestige des anciennes fortifications du XIIème), les maisons des XVème et XVIème siècles restaurées, la maison Saccazand (du dernier procureur du Roi en 1792) et son oriel, l'église Saint-Germain et sa Tour de l'Horloge (l'une des 3 cloches, appelée Germaine, pèse 1.5t et date de 1515).
  • l'inévitable Voie Verte à l'entrée de Buxy avec son ancienne gare et l'Office de Tourisme,
  • aux alentours plusieurs églises romanes sont ornées de fresques (Granges, Germagny, Rosey),
  • à 10km, le village de Bissy-sur-Fley est dominé par le chateau du poète Pontus de Tyard (membre de la Pléiade avec Ronsard et Du Bellay), restauré par une association de passionnés. Une vigne conservatoire y a été créée avec plus de 50 cépages existant au temps de Pontus. A proximité le village de Culles-les-Roches est charmant.
  • le Mont Avril (421m) à 7km, offre une vue panoramique sur la Côte Chalonnaise. Deux montées sont possibles depuis Jambles et Cercot (Moroges). Les collines calcaires (dont certaines sont classées sites Natura 2000), qui surplombent Buxy sont parsemées de buis, "buxus" en latin, qui a probablement donné son nom à Buxy au Xème siècle (source Wikipedia-page Buxy).


Gites Buxy - Eglise Saint-Germain et sa tour de l'HorlogeGites proches Buxy - maison du XVemeBuxy Voie VerteTour Rouge à Buxy