Beaune

Gites in Beaune - Hospices de Beaune - the jewel of Burgundy

Location: 35km north of the cottages.

Nearby: the castle of La Rochepot, Nuits-Saint-Georges, Nolay village, Citeaux abbey

Why we recommend Beaune:

  • l'Hotel-Dieu (Hospices), now turned into a hospital museum to show the public the methods of care in the Middle Ages. It was founded in the XVth century by Nicolas Rollin to accommodate the poor and plague victims. It has become a symbol of Burgundy thanks to its beautiful courtyard and its glazed tiles originating from Central Europe. Many rooms display a wide variety of objects and works of art, making the visit very accessible to children, including the final room where you will see the polyptych of the "Last Judgment".
    Free audio guides are available for adults and children.
    Go there preferably in the morning to see the roof in the best light.
  • visits of prestigious caves with wine tasting at affordable prices. We reommend Caves Patriarche by the interest of the visit and the "generous" and cool wine-tasting,
  • Small streets in the centre hiding a few surprises for example, belfries, churches, mansions, old doors, carvings on the houses and parts of the ramparts that are well preserved and improved with parks and gardens.
  • the Musée du Vin, housed in the former palace of the Dukes of Burgundy (XIVth-XVIIIth). It traces the history of the vineyard from antiquity to the present day displaying techniques and tools of the winery and wine making process, including wine presses and tasting cups, and explaining the rites and customs related to wine.
  • The Collegial church of Notre Dame, founded in 1120 with a structure similar to the cathedral of Autun. It is known for the five tapestries in wool and silk on display which date from 1500 and which were collectively classified as a 'historic monument' in 1891. These depict scenes from the life of the Virgin.
  • A curiosity, 7km from Beaune, is the castle of Savigny les Beaune which displays, in a vast treed park, an impressive collection of vintage cars, motorcycles, tractors, fire engines and about 80 real military and civilian aircraft.
  • National festivals : International Thriller Film Festival in late March, International Festival of Baroque Opera in July.
    X. Maglott

Gites in Beaune - Hospices de Beaune - sick people in Middle AgesGites near Beaune - Collegiale Church BeauneTapestries in wool and silk at collegiale church in Beaunebeaune cloister

polyptych of the Last Judgment - Beaune Hotel Dieu

Room for healthy sick people - Hospices Hotel Dieu Hotel-Dieu courtyard in Beaunebeaune caves visit and wine-tasting

Beaune

Location gite de France Beaune - Hospices de Beaune - le joyau de la Bourgogne

Localisation: 35km au Nord des gites.

A proximité: le chateau de La Rochepot, Nuits-Saint-Georges, le village de Nolay, abbaye de Citeaux

Pourquoi nous aimons Beaune:

  • l'Hotel-Dieu (Hospices), transformé en hôpital-musée, afin de montrer au public les méthodes de soins au Moyen-âge (fondé au XVème siècle par Nicolas Rollin pour accueillir les pauvres et les pestiférés). Il est devenu un des symboles de la Bourgogne grâce à la beauté de sa cour intérieure et de ses tuiles vernissées (originaires d'Europe Centrale).  Les nombreuses salles présentent une grande diversité d'objets et d'œuvres d'art, ce qui rend la visite très accessible aux enfants, y compris la salle finale (le polyptyque du «Jugement Dernier»).
    Audio-guides gratuits pour adultes et enfants. Y aller plutôt le matin pour la lumière sur le toit.
  • des visites de caves prestigieuses avec des dégustations, à des prix abordables. Nous recommandons les Caves Patriarche par l'intérêt de la visite, les bornes intéractives et la dégustation servie généreusement et détendue.
  • les petites rues du centre réservent quelques surprises (beffroi, églises, hôtels particuliers, portes anciennes, sculptures sur des maisons...). Une partie des remparts est bien préservée et mise en valeur.
  • le Musée du Vin, installé dans l'ancien palais des Ducs de Bourgogne (XIVème-XVIIIème), il retrace l'histoire de la vigne de l'Antiquité à nos jours (techniques et outils, cuverie, pressoir, tastevins, ...), ainsi que les rites et coutumes liés au vin.
  • la collégiale Notre-Dame, fondée en 1120 avec une structure proche de la cathédrale d'Autun, est connue pour les 5 tapisseries en laine et soie (datant de 1500 et classées monuments historiques en 1891), représentant des scènes de la vie de la Vierge.
  • une curiosité à 7km de Beaune : le château de Savigny les Beaune qui présente, dans un vaste parc arboré,  une impressionnante collection de voitures anciennes, de motos, de tracteurs, de véhicules d'incendie et ... environ 80 VRAIS avions militaires et civils.
  • les festivals de niveau national : Film Policier en fin Mars, Opéra Baroque en Juillet.

Location gite Beaune - Hospices de Beaune - grande salle des maladesGites de France Beaune - Collégiale de BeauneLocation gite Beaune - Tapisseries collégiale de Beaune - (C) Mattana

Polyptyque Hospices de Beaune : le Jugement Dernier

Chambre pour malades payants aux HospicesCour Hotel-Dieubeaune visite de caves et dégustation