Autun

Autun cathedral from Couhard village

Location:  45km West of the cottages.

Nearby: castle of Sully, Morvan landscapes, castle of Couches

Why we love this place:

It is a unique place which combines Roman and Gallic remains, walls from the early Middle Ages and Gothic monuments. There you wil find :
  • a roman theater, set into a green hill, 148m in diameter measurement which could accommodate up to 20,000 people. It was more important than the theaters (now extinct) in Nimes and Arles. Partially restored, it is now the place for cultural and folkloric events.
  • Two Roman gates in the heart of the city: the gate of St. Andrew and the Arroux gate.
  • The Gallo-Roman temple of Janus, 27m in height: it combined the two local methods of construction, Roman construction in stone and the architecture of Gallic monuments and temples using wood.
  • Roman ramparts (originally 4-kilometers long), into which a number of existing dwellings are now integrated.
  • The view of the whole city, built against the mountain of Planoise, from the village of Couhard. The ugly pyramid of Couhard (also called pierre de Couhard) located there was certainly a Roman tombstone. A pretty stroll taking 1h30-2h passes through Couhard which overlooks Autun (See the guide "Les sentiers d'Emilie" which is available to our guests).
  • Saint Lazare cathedralSaint-Lazare Cathedral built in the twelfth century. It is a perfect example of the harmony achieved between the Romanesque and flamboyant Gothic styles, starting from its original conception and incorporating many additions over time. It is distinguished by the quality of its conservation and the expressiveness of its many sculptures, particularly its "tympan" (see stunning interactive image and short videos). If it is not under restoration, you can access the tower by using the beautiful fifteenth century staircase.
  • The historic area around the cathedral is, in itself, worth a visit. From this district, the highest area of the city, you can look across the slopes of the mountain against which Autun is nestled: from this perspective you are spared the views of modern buildings and shopping centres!
  • The pedestrian street of the Cordiers has the charm of grand cities, but without their ostentation.

See Google Maps of the cathedral from Saint-Louis square and more images of Autun

A little history: Autun was founded by Emperor Augustus twenty centuries ago to replace the hill fort or oppidum of Bibracte. Designed from the outset according to a grandiose plan as the "little sister of Rome" it reached its peak in the third century AD. The end of the Roman Empire was disastrous for the city; it was besieged and devastated many times. The city was saved by medieval Christianity when the bishops of Autun, jealous of the spreading influence of Vezelay, claimed to have some relics of Saint Lazare which they exhibited in the cathedral. Autun then became a place of pilgrimage and the reputation of the city was restored. The first Dukes of Burgundy had their court in Autun before moving the court permanently to Dijon.

Autun cathedralAutun - Saint André GateAutun gallo-roman temple of JanusAutun cathedral empereur Constantin sculpture

Autun

Cathédrale d'Autun depuis Couhard

Localisation: à 45km à l'Ouest des gites.

A proximité: chateau de Sully, le Morvan, chateau de Couches

Pourquoi nous aimons cette ville:

  • un lieu unique où se côtoient vestiges romains et gaulois, remparts du début du Moyen-âge et monuments gothiques,
  • le théâtre antique, adossé à une colline verdoyante, mesure 148m de diamètre et pouvait accueillir jusqu'à 20000 personnes. Il était plus important que les théâtres (aujourd'hui disparus) de Nîmes et Arles. En partie restauré, il est le lieu de manifestations culturelles et folkloriques.
  • les portes romaines, au cœur de la ville : porte Saint-André, porte d'Arroux.
  • le temple gallo-romain de Janus, haut de 27m : il allie méthodes de construction romaine en pierre et architecture des monuments temples gaulois en bois.
  • les remparts romains (à l'origine longs de 4 kilomètres), où s'intègrent un certain nombre d'habitations actuelles, très facile à observer depuis le boulevard Mac-Mahon,
  • la vue sur l'ensemble de la ville, adossée à la montagne de la Planoise, depuis le village de Couhard (la peu esthétique pyramide de Couhard fut certainement un monument funéraire romain). Une jolie balade 1h30-2h passe par Couhard en surplomb d'Autun (cf le guide "Les sentiers d'Emilie" mis à disposition de nos hôtes).
  • Cathédrale Saint Lazare d'Autunla cathédrale Saint-Lazare édifiée au XIIème siècle, est un parfait exemple d'harmonie entre le roman et le gothique flamboyant, entre sa conception originelle et les nombreux ajouts au fil du temps. Elle se distingue par la qualité de conservation et l'expressivité de nombreuses sculptures, notamment son tympan du jugement dernier (voir le "tympan interactif" ainsi que les vidéos, passionnants ! ). S'il n'est pas en restauration, on peut accéder au clocher par emprunter un bel escalier du XVème siècle.
  • le quartier historique autour de la cathédrale vaut, à lui seul, le détour (de l'hôtel Rolin à la tour des Ursulines). Depuis ce quartier, tout en haut de la ville, on peut apercevoir les prairies de la montagne sur laquelle s'adosse Autun : des points de vue et des perspectives préservés de la modernité et des centres commerciaux !
  • la rue piétonne aux Cordiers (en pente) a le charme des villes cossues mais sans ostentation.

Voir la cathédrale Saint-Lazare depuis la place Saint-Louis et d'autre lieux d'intérêt sur Google Maps

Autun cathédraleAutun - porte Saint AndréAutun temple gallo-romain de JanusAutun chapiteau victoire empereur Constantin


Un peu d'histoire
: Autun fut créée par l'empereur Auguste il y a vingt siècles pour s'opposer à la place forte de Bibracte. Conçue d'emblée selon un plan grandiose de « petite sœur de Rome » elle atteint son apogée au IIIème siècle après JC. La fin de l'empire romain lui fut fatale et la ville fut dévastée à de nombreuses reprises. Elle fut sauvée par le christianisme médiéval lorsque les évêques d'Autun, jaloux du rayonnement de Vézelay, affirmèrent disposer des reliques de Saint Lazare (exposées dans la cathédrale). Autun devint alors un lieu de pèlerinage et retrouva son lustre d'antant ; les premiers Ducs de Bourgogne y tinrent leur cour avant d'émigrer vers Dijon.
X. Maglott